Stanford’s McNealy wins Byron Nelson Award

Maverick McNealy of Stanford was selected as recipient of the 2017 Byron Nelson Award.

McNealy, a senior from Portola Valley, Calif., is No. 3 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings and has 11 victories in his college career, tying the Stanford record set by Tiger Woods in 1996 and tied by Patrick Rodgers in 2014.

As a sophomore, McNealy won six times and was named winner of the Haskins Award.

“It is an absolute honor to be the recipient of this award, one that carries on Mr. Nelson’s legacy,” McNealy said. “I am humbled to be thought of as an exemplar of what he stood for, and his example will continue to serve as a great model in golf and life. I look forward to the challenge of representing and upholding the values of this award to the best of my abilities.”

The Byron Nelson Award is awarded annually to a graduating college senior and the selection committee considers equally a nominee’s college academic and golf career as well as his character and integrity while in college.

A nominee’s citizenship, following the example of the namesake Byron Nelson, also is a strong consideration.

The other four finalists for the Byron Nelson Award were Jared du Toit of Arizona State, Matt Gilchrest of Auburn, Jimmy Stanger of Virginia and Mack Farley of St. John’s (Minn.).


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles