McNealy, Hossler, Wise are Hogan semifinalists

Maverick McNealy of Stanford, Beau Hossler of Texas and Aaron Wise of Oregon–all from California–are among the 10 semifinalists for the 2016 Ben Hogan Award, presented annually to the best college golfer in the country by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

McNealy, a junior from Portola Valley who is No. 4 in the Golfweek men’s college rankings, has nine victories in his career including three this season, and is two short of the Cardinal record of 11 set by Tiger Woods in 1995 and tied by Patrick Rodgers in 2014.

Hossler, a junior from Mission Viejo who is No. 1 in the Golfweek rankings, leads the nation five victories this season and has a 69.42 stroke average in eight tournaments.

Wise, a sophomore from Lake Elsinore who is No. 10 in the Golfweek rankings, has two victories this season.

The other seven semifinalists are senior Jon Rahm of Arizona State and Spain, who was the 2015 Ben Hogan Award-winner; junior Robby Shelton of Alabama; senior Michael Johnson of Auburn; senior Lee McCoy of Georgia; senior Matt NeSmith of South Carolina; senior Charlie Danielson of Illinois, and freshman Sam Horsfield of Florida.

Past winners of the Hogan Award include D.J. Trahan of Clemson (2002); Ricky Barnes of Arizona ( 2003); Hunter Mahan of Oklahoma State (2003); Bill Haas of Wake Forest (2004); Ryan Moore of UNLV (2005); Matt Every of Florida (2006); Chris Kirk of Georgia (2007); Rickie Fowler of Oklahoma State (2008); Kyle Stanley of Clemson (2009); Nick Taylor of Washington ( 2010); Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State ( 2011); Patrick Cantlay of UCLA ( 2012); Chris Williams of Washington (2013); Rodgers of Stanford (2014) and Rahm.



Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles