Stanford Freshman Zhang, 18, Receives McCormack Medal for the Second Time

Rose Zhang of Irvine, a freshman at Stanford, received the McCormack Medal as the best player in women’s world amateur golf for the second straight time during opening ceremonies for the Spirit International Amateur at Whispering Pines Golf Club in Trinity, Texas.

The 18-year-old Zhang joined Lydia Ko of New Zealand (2011-12-13) and Leona McGuire of Ireland (2015-16-17) and the only multiple recipients of the award.

“To receive any award with the USGA and The R&A’s names on it is incredible, so to have it happen a second time is both rewarding and humbling,” said Zhang, who has won the individual title in her first three tournaments at Stanford.

“The work I’ve put into my game over the past few years has truly been paying off, and I am so grateful to all who have supported me along the way. I look forward to continuing to reach new heights as I take my game to the collegiate level.”

Zhang, who has been No. 1 in the Women’s World Amateur Golf Rankings for the last 47 weeks, captured the 2021 the U.S. Girls’ Junior Championship in July by defeating Bailey Davis of White Plains, Md., 6 and 4, in the 36-hole final at Columbia Country Club in Chevy Chase, Md.

A year earlier, Zhang won the 2020 U.S. Women’s Amateur by defeating Gabriela Ruffels of USC and Australia on the 38th hole at Woodmont Country Club in Rockville, Md.

Zhang, who became only the eighth player to win both events, also earned  low-amateur honors in the LPGA Tour’s ANA Inspiration, tied for third in the 2021 Augusta National Women’s Amateur and finished second in the LPGA Symetra Tour’s Carlisle Arizona Women’s Golf Classic.

“On behalf of our entire organization, I’d like to congratulate Rose on this incredible achievement,” said John Bodenhamer, USGA senior managing director of championships.

“Her play over the last two years has put her in a league of her own, and she has shown she is not only a champion on the course, but off it as well. We cannot wait to continue to watch her career grow for years to come.” 

The award is named after Mark H. McCormack, who founded sports marketing company IMG and was a great supporter of amateur golf. It is awarded annually by the USGA and R&A.

Other winners of the McCormack Medal for women, which was first presented in 2011, include Andrea Lee of Hermosa Beach and Stanford (2019), Jennifer Kupcho of Westminster, Colo., and Wake Forest (2018), and Minjee Lee of Australia (2014).

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles