Block Earns SCPGA Player of the Year Award for the 10th Time in 11 Years

Michael Block of Arroyo Trabuco Golf Club in Mission Viejo has claimed the Southern California PGA Player of the Year Award for a record 10th time in the last 11 years.

The SCPGA announced its annual Player of the Years awards this week, but Block wrapped up his award again by finishing atop the point standings when he captured the 2023 Southern California PGA Professional Championship at Sherwood Country Club in Thousand Oaks in September.

“I was lucky enough to come away with the trophy, and I’m grateful for all the support and camaraderie we have here in the Section,” said Block, who has captured an incredible total of 64 SCPGA tournaments since 2008.

Block also won the SCPGA Member-Associate Championship, the SCPGA Stroke Play Classic and the SCPGA Match Play Championship earlier this year, while also finishing second in three other events among 11 finishes in the top 10.

Other Player of the Year awards went to:

Natalie Vivaldi of Emerald Isle Executive Golf Course in Oceanside, SCPGA Women’s Player of the Year; Rick Garboski of Golf Development Complex in Moorpark, SCPGA Senior Player of the Year; Wendy Wisbom of Annandale Golf Club in Pasadena,  SCPGA Women’s Senior Player of the Year; Garrett Sapp of San Gabriel Country Club, SCPGA Associate Player of the Year, and Jon Fiedler of Las Posas Country Club in Camarillo, SCPGA Men’s Super Senior Player of the Year.

Earlier, the SCPGA announced its other 2023 award winners:

Todd Keefer of Las Posas Country Club, the SCPGA Golf Professional of the Year; Josh Alpert of Good Swings Happen in El Segundo, the SCPGA Teacher and Coach of the Year; David Anderson of KBS Golf Experience in Carlsbad, SCPGA Clubfitter Award; Justin Hight of Santa Barbara Golf Club, the SCPGA Assistant Golf Professional Award; Rick Rielly of Wilshire Country Club in Los Angeles, the Bill Strausbaugh Award; Heather King of Miramar Memorial Golf Course in San Diego, the SCPGA Player Development Award; Randy Chang of the Journey at Pechanga in Temecula, the SCPGA Tom Addis Professional Development Award; Mitch Stout of Rancho Santa Fe Golf Club, the SCPGA Youth Player Development Award; Clayton Moore of Stone Eagle Golf Club in Palm Desert, the  SCPGA Merchandiser of the Year in the Private Category; Joseph Williams of Indian Wells Golf Resort, the SCPGA Merchandiser of the Year in the Resort Category, and Aaron Castillo of Arrowhead Golf Course in San Bernardino, the SCPGA Merchandiser of the Year in the Public Category.

All of the award winners will be honored at the 2023 SCPGA President’s Dinner on Dec. 3 at Mission Hills Country Club in Rancho Mirage.

For more information about the Southern California PGA, visit:  

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles