U.S. retains Arnold Palmer Cup in a rout

The United States claimed 18 of 24 points available in singles and retained the Arnold Palmer Cup with a 38½-21½ victory over the International team at Evian Resort Golf Club in Evian-les-Bains, France.

The U.S. became the first visiting team to win since the 2010 Americans, plus the first team to repeat since 2011 and leads the all-time series, 12-9-1.

Alana Uriell of Arkansas earned the clinching point for the U.S. with a 2-and-1 victory over Pimnipa Panthong of Thailand and Kent State, and the Americans won nine of the 11 remaining matches to make it a blowout.

Emilia Migliaccio of Wake Forest was the only player to record a 4-0 record, beating Chloe Ryan of Ireland and Instituto Superior de Derecho y Economia of Madrid, 2 and 1, in singles.

Among the Californians on the U.S. team, Lilia Vu of Fountain Valley and UCLA led the way at 3-0-1, while Shinaro Ban of San Jose and UNLV, Justin Suh of San Jose and USC, Collin Morikawa of La Canada Flintridge and Cal, and Mariel Galdiano of Hawaii and UCLA all finished at 3-1.

Andrea Lee of Hermosa Beach and Stanford was 2-2, while Saheeth Theegala of Chino Hills and Pepperdine finished at 1-3.

Among the International team from California schools, KK Limbhasut Thailand and Cal was 3-1, Patty Tavatanakit of Thailand and UCLA finished 1-1-2, and Albane Valenzuela of Switzerland and Stanford went 2-2.

Morikawa and Olivia Mehaffey of Northern Ireland and Arizona State were named recipients of the Michael Carter Award, which is presented to the participants who best represent the qualities and ideals of sportsmanship, integrity and upholding of the game.

Suh was selected by both teams to receive the Arnold Palmer Cup exemption into the 2019 Arnold Palmer Invitational at Bay Hill Resort and Club in Orlando, Fla., while Dylan Kim of Plano, Texas, and Arkansas was presented a wild card into the Evian Championship in France this September.

Suh and Kim were selected as the players who best represent the “Arnold Palmer Legacy.”

Coach Anne Walker of Scotland and Stanford led the International team and Brad Dahlke of Oklahoma coached the Americans.

For complete results, visit http://results.golfstat.com/public/leaderboards/nonav.cfm?pg=Palmer2018&eid=14751&lk=6&tid=15739.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles