Toshiba re-ups at Newport Beach CC

Toshiba Corporation announced that it is extending its title sponsorship of the Toshiba Classic at Newport Beach Country Club through 2017. It is the longest-running event on the Champions Tour, celebrating its 20th playing this week.

Toshiba has been title sponsor of the tournament since George Archer won the first tournament at Mesa Verde Country Club in 1995, the only time the event was not played at Newport Beach CC.

“In addition to celebrating two decades of world-class golf this year, we are proud to continue this great tradition of being supported by Toshiba Corporation to bring both great golf to the Orange County community, and a tremendous impact to Newport Beach and surrounding areas,” said Ira Garbutt, Tournament Chairman of the Toshiba Classic.

“We thank Toshiba for all they have done for this event, and are thrilled to host great fields for years to come.”

The Toshiba Classic is the most charitable event on the Champions Tour, bringing in more than $1 million per year to benefit Hoag Hospital in Newport Beach. The 2014 event will benefit the Mary & Dick Allen Diabetes Center at Hoag Hospital for the fourth consecutive year.

David Frost of South Africa will defend his title beginning Friday in the 20th Toshiba Classic.

Other former winners include Nick Price, Fred Couples, Bernhard Langer, Hale Irwin, Loren Roberts, Jay Haas, Gary McCord, Jim Colbert, Brad Bryant, Tom Purtzer and Mark Johnson of Helendale.

In 1997, Bob Murphy beat Jay Sigel in a playoff that went nine holes, which was a Champions Tour record at the time.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles