Sullivan Captures Pasadena Senior Men’s Championship by Eight Strokes

Dan Sullivan of Pasadena led almost from wire-to-wire while capturing the Pasadena Senior Men’s Golf Championship by eight strokes over Jeffrey Dufour of San Bernardino and Brian Smyth of Tustin at Brookside Golf Club on the grounds of the Rose Bowl in Pasadena.

The 55-year-old Sullivan, who also won the 2020 Senior Ojai Cup and the 2017 Southern California Mid-Amateur Championship, posted a winning score of 62-66—128, 11-under-par, while Dufour finished at 65-71—136 and Smyth wound up at 64-72—136.

In addition, Sullivan captured the Pasadena Men’s Championship in 2014 and 2016, the 2014 San Clemente Championship in addition to the 2012 Southern California Golf Association Public Links Championship, the 2010 Northern California Master Division Championship and the 2009 Santa Barbara County Championship.

“I was about 8 years old when I started playing golf with my father,” Sullivan recalled. “When I was growing up, he was a member at Annandale Golf Club (in Pasadena), and the club was great about letting juniors play. It was something my father and I could do together.

“The summer between freshman and sophomore years (at USC) I decided to really give it a go and see if I could make the team. I wanted to see how good I could get. It wasn’t about being a good golfer, it was about being great, and in fact, I probably would have had to have been even better than the scholarship guys to earn a spot on that team.”

Sullivan didn’t make the team, but he has continued to get better through the years..

Greg Edwards of San Diego shot 66-71—137 to tie for fourth with Patrick Harrigan of Pasadena, who finished at 65-72—137, while Robert Johnson of Vacaville was sixth at 65-73—138.

Todd Wade of Los Angeles, who totaled 70-69—139 to tie for seventh with Dick Engel of Lancaster, who wound up at 68-71—139, and Michael Dlugos of West Covina, who came in at 64-75—139, and Ted Chien of Rancho Palos Verdes at 69-71—140.

Previous winners of the Pasadena Senior Men’s Golf Championship include Tim Hogarth, who won the last two years, another two-time winner in Robert Funk, Brian Carson, Michael Turner and Sean Birren.

Shane Nolan of Pasadena captured the A Flight with a score of 75-65—140, followed by Tommy Handojo of Carlsbad at 74-67—141, while Thomas Seidel of San Diego shot 74-68—142 to tie for third with Heetack Wood of Pasadena, who finished at 78-64—141, and Ed Kelly of Pasadena at 72-70—142.

Maurice Choi of La Habra Heights claimed the B Flight title with a score of 69-66—135, followed by Emre Kosmaz of Pasadena at 71-68—139, Dennis Parkhouse of Rancho Cucamonga at 72-68—140 and Jack Mackenzie of Glendale at 74-67—141, while Matt Craven of Pasadena shot 79-64—143 to tie for fifth with Matt Soule of Pasadena at 72-71—143.

Carlos Casanova of Pasdena took the C Flight title with a score of 66—71—137, followed by Harry Bobbit, also of Pasadena, at 75-63—138, Barry Skolnick of Granada Hills at 76-64—140, Uan Le of Long Beach and Anthony Larson of San Gabriel at 76-67—143

For complete results, visit

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles