Koivun, Liu Win 92nd NCGA Jr. Titles

Adora Liu of Newark and Jackson Koivun of San Jose led virtually from wire-to-wire to capture their divisions in the 92nd Northern California Golf Association Junior Championships at Lake Merced Golf Club in Daly City.

Koivun made four birdies on his last seven holes to win the Boys Division with a score of 68-72-69—209, 7-under-par, while Curtis Dasilva of Monterey was second at 69-73-72—214, followed by Reese Sato of Folsom at 73-75-67—215, Parker Mapes of Pleasanton at 71-73-73—217 and Brandon Knight, also of Pleasanton, at 79-71-68—218.

Wyatt McGovern of Hillsborough was sixth at 70-75-74—219, followed by Jacob Ponce of San Ramon at 70-76-76—222 and Arjun Aujla of Greenbrae at 76-75-72—223, while Jake Aberle of Lodi shot 72-80-72—224 to tie for ninth with Nicholas Mouser of Fresno, who finished at 74-76-74—224.

Adora carded a score of 72-71-77—220 to hold off Amelia Garibaldi of Stockton, who finished at 73-73-76—222, while Michelle Ho of San Ramon was third at 73-73-80—226, followed by Cindy Wang of San Jose at 75-73-80—228 and Alaythia Hinds of Rancho Murrieta at 74-77-80—231.

Francesa Sumcad of San Jose totaled 79-77-76—232 to tie for sixth with Sammie Miller of Brentwood, who came in at 75-77-80—232, while Leighton Abigail of Santa Rose shot 90-76-77—233 to tie for eighth with Stella Cheng of Fremont, who finished at 75-78-80—223, Annika Cruz of Milpitas, who wound up at 74-79-80—223, and Kara Lee of San Ramon, who came in at 74-78-81—223.

Previous winners of the NCGA Junior titles include Ken Venturi in 1949, Bobby Clampett in 1976, Joel Kribel in 1993, Tom Johnson in 1998 and 1999, and Patrick Nagle in 2002.

Johnny Miller won at The Olympic Club in 1963 and his son, Todd Miller, claimed the title in 1976, and they are the only father-son champions.

Eddie Fry holds the most titles, having won in 1941, 1942 and 1943.

Thomas Hutchison won in 2016, joining his sister, Samantha, who claimed the title in 2013, and they are the only siblings to have captured NCGA Junior titles.

Other past Girls Division winners include Jamille Jose in 1988-89, Dodie Mazzucca in 1991, Haley Andreas in 2009, Sabrina Iqbal in 2015-2016 and Yealimi Noh in 2017.

For complete results, visit https://www.golfgenius.com/pages/2798766


Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles