Cohn Captures 57th NorCal Publinx Championship by 2 Shots Over Moore

Matt Cohn of San Francisco captured the 57th Northern California Public Links Championship by two strokes over Nick Moore of Seaside at Poppy Hills Golf Course in Pebble Beach, winning the tournament for the fourth time.

Cohn, who also claimed the title in 2013, 2015, and 2017, and now leads the 2022 NCGA Player of the Year points race, carded a score of 69-69—138, 4-under-par, while Moore, who won this title in 2015 and 2017, finished at 72-68—140, while Brett Viboch of Sacramento was third at 70-72—142.

“It’s just not easy to win,” said the 41-year-old Cohn, a tutor in San Francisco, who made his fifth birdie of the final round on the last hole to wrap up the title. “It seems like it’s going to be easy, and then it’s not.

“When I looked (at the leaderboard on the final hole) and saw Nick’s name, I couldn’t have been less surprised. On the last hole, I assumed that he would make a birdie. So I assumed I also had to make birdie.”

Moore, who was seeking his 11th NCGA title and actually made par on the final hole said: “I had a bad lie (at No. 18) and I made a bad hit. If I’m going to lose, I might as well lose to my four-ball partner. Matt played well and I congratulate him.”

Cohn and Moore teamed up to capture the NCGA Mid-Amateur Four-Ball Championship last year.

It was the eighth individual title of Cohn’s career, including the 2019 Palo Alto City Championship, the 2018 NCGA Mid-Amateur Championship, the 2013 Santa Clara County Amateur and 2012 Amateur California Mid-Amateur Championship.

Zachary Solomon of Carmichael shot 75-70—145 to tie for fourth with Casey Leebrick of San Luis Obispo, who wound up at 71-74—145, while Jack Barber of La Jolla totaled 73-73—146 to tie for sixth with Christian Quint of Loomis, who wound up at 70-76—146.

Richard Yai of Fremont was eighth at 76-71—147, followed by Timothy Magcalayo of Santa Clara at 74-74—148, while Gabriel Arcoleo of Fremont shot 76-73—149 to tie for 10th with Dan Young of Redwood City, who came in at 71-78—149.

Other top NorCal amateurs who have won Public Links title  tournament include Forest Fezler, Jeff Burda, Arron Oberholser, Casey Boyns, Jim Knoll, Scott Hardy, Jim McMurtrey, Mike Powers, Mitch Thomas, Mike Powers and Mitch Thomas.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles