Barbara Nicklaus to receive Jones Award

Barbara Nicklaus has been selected as recipient of the 2015 Bob Jones Award, the highest honor given by the United States Golf Association.

The award is given annually to an individual who demonstrates Jones’ spirit, personal character and respect for the game. Nicklaus, wife of golf great Jack Nicklaus, will receive the award during the U.S. Open in June at Chambers Bay near Seattle.

“What a truly humbling honor,” Barbara Nicklaus said in a release. “The USGA has been a part of our lives since Jack and I were teenagers, and we have always respected and appreciated their contributions and impact on the great game of golf.

“To receive this honor from them, one that bears the name of a man who had such a deep impact on our family, is one of the most meaningful recognitions I have been blessed to receive.”

Barbara Nicklaus, who has been married to the greatest golfer in history for 55 years, has devoted her life to volunteer work and numerous youth-related charities.

The Barbara and Jack Nicklaus Junior Golf Endowment Fund supports junior golf programs at the local, state and national level for underpriviledged children.

Barbara Nicklaus also serves as chairman of the Nicklaus Children’s Health Care Foundation, which has raised more than $32 million since its inception in 2004.

Jack Nicklaus received the Bob Jones award in 1975 and other previous winners include Arnold Palmer, Ben Hogan, Byron Nelson, Babe Zaharias, Francis Ouimet, President George H.W. Bush, Gary Player, Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, Annika Sorenstam, Gene Sarazen, Nancy Lopez and Tom Watson.

Last year’s recipient was Payne Stewart.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles