AT&T reaches new 10-year agreement with Pebble Beach National Pro-Am

AT&T has reached a new 10-year agreement with the Monterey Peninsula Foundation to remain as title sponsor of the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am through 2024.

The iconic tournament started as the Big Crosby Pro-Am in 1938 and AT&T has been the title sponsor since 1986, the second-longest run of an sponsors among the current PGA Tour events.

Honda has been title sponsor of the Honda Classic since 1982.

“We’re proud to continue the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am’s commitment to charities for years to come,” said Cathy Coughlin, AT&T global marketing officer and senior executive vice president. “It’s a great event for the community, our customers and our brand.”

Since the tournament, still known to purists as “The Crosby,” began in 1937, it has raised more than $110 million for charities in the Monterey Peninsula Area.  The 2014 AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am will be played Feb. 3-9 at Pebble Beach Golf Links, Spyglass Hill Golf Course and Monterey Peninsula Country Club.

“Beyond its popularity among players, celebrities and fans, the tournament has a history of making a meaningful difference in the community by contributing more than $110 million to deserving programs,” Commissioner Tim Finchem of the PGA Tour said.  “With AT&T’s commitment, the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am is assured of continuing its wonderful tradition of entertaining and giving back.”

Brandt Snedeker captured the title earlier this year, putting his name on the trophy alongside such greats as Mark O’Meara, who won the title a record five times; Sam Snead, who won the first two years and four times in all; Phil Mickelson, who also has four titles, and Jack Nicklaus and Johnny Miller, who each claimed three.

Others champions at Pebble include Tiger Woods, Ben Hogan, Tom Watson, Lloyd Mangrum, Byron Nelson, Jimmy Demaret, Cary Middlecoff, Billy Casper, Ken Venturi, Tony Lema, Vijay Singh, Gene Littler, Payne Stewart, Davis Love III, Hale Irwin, Paul Azinger, Ben Crenshaw, Fuzzy Zoeller, Tom Kite, John Cook, George Archer, Art Wall Jr., Doug Ford, Jay Hebert and Bob Rosburg.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles