Wilson’s Third Eagle Defeats Davis in Playoff at Annika Invitational

Yana Wilson of Henderson, Nev., used her third eagle of the day to turn back Anna Davis of Spring Valley, Calif., in the 2022 Annika Invitational.

The 15-year-old Wilson, who has won 110 times in her incredible junior tour, holed out from 75 yards on the first playoff hole to capture the tournament title at Eagle Creek Golf Club in Orlando, Fla.

“To win this invitational feels great,” said Wilson, who received the trophy from golf great Annika Sorenstam of Sweden. “I’ve never won an (AJGA) invitational before and since Annika is here, it’s really cool.”

Wilson also eagled the seventh and 13th holes en route to a third straight 3-under-par 69 in the final round and finished with a 54-hole score of 12-under-par 207, which Wilson matched by shooting 70-65-72—207.

Davis took a three-stroke lead into the final round but made two early bogeys and found herself trailing after Wilson made her eagle at No. 7 with another hole-out from 75 yards.

Then Davis made birdies on the ninth and 11th holes to regain the lead, but Wilson went back in front with another eagle at No. 13. However, Wilson made a bogey at on the 17th hole, and after players birdied the last hole of regulation they went to the playoff.

By winning, Wilson, a two-time national Drive, Chip and Putt champion, qualified for the Hilton Grand Vacations Tournament of Champions this week at Lake Nona Golf & Country Club in Orlando, Fla., where she will compete alongside LPGA players.

Matilda Johnson of Sweden was third at 71-71-67—209, followed by Meja Ortengren, also of Sweden, at 70-7566—211, while Vanessa Zhang of Canada shot 72-69-71—212 to tie for fifth with Michelle Zhang of China, who finished at 70-72-70—212.

Jasmine Koo of Cerritos, Calif., totaled 70-74-69—213 to tie for seventh with Lauren Kim of Canada, who wound up at 74-72-67—213, Sky Sudberry of the Woodlands, Texas, who finished at 70-73-70—213, Avery Zweig of McKinney, Texas, who wound up at 73-69-71—213, and Katie Li of Basking Ridge, N.J., who came in at 71-70-72—213.

Previous winners of the Annika Invitational include Alison Lee, Bethany Wu, Celine Boutier, Brooke Seay, Angelina Ye and Ingrid Lindblad.

For complete results, visit https://www.ajga.org/tournaments/2022/hilton-grand-vacations-annika-invitational-presented-by-rolex/leaderboard

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles