Waves Theegala, Mouw Named All-Americans

Teammates Sahith Theegala and William Mouw of Pepperdine are among 11 players named to the Golf Coaches Association of America’s 2019-2020 All-American first team.

Theegala was ranked No. 1 in the individual rankings and the Waves were top-ranked in the team rankings when the Spring season was canceled because of concerns caused by the Coronavirus pandemic.

Mouw (pictured), a freshman from Chino, and Theegala, a senior from nearby Chino Hills, both made the All-West Region team recently, and Theegala is a finalist for the Ben Hogan and Haskins awards.

Three others teams landed two players on the team, Florida with freshman Ricky Castillo of Yorba Linda, Calif., and John Axelsen, Georgia with Trent Phillip and Davis Thompson, and Oklahoma with Quade Cummins and Garett Reband.

Also on the first team are John Augenstein of Vanderbilt, Cooper Dossey of Baylor and Peter Kuest of BYU.

On the second team are Jonathan Brightwell of North Carolina-Greensboro, Pierceson Coody of Texas, Austin Eckroat of Oklahoma State, Noah Goodwin of SMU, Evan Katz of Duke, Mac Meissner of SMU, Andy Ogletree of Georgia Tech, John Pak of Florida State, Adrien Pendaries of Duke, Mark Power of Wake Forest, and Sandy Scott of Texas Tech.

The third team consists of Puwit Anupansuebsai of San Diego State, Devon Bling of UCLA, Yuxin Lin of USC, Sam Choi of New Mexico, Angus Flanagan on Minnesota, Christopher Gotterup of Rutgers, Walker Lee of Texas A&M, David Perkins of Illinois State, Jovan Rebula of Auburn, Cameron Sisk of Arizona State, and Trevor Werbylo of Arizona.

Among 30 players receiving Honorable Mention are Leo Oyo of San Diego State and Tim Widing of San Francisco.


Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles