Tom Lindgren elected president of Southern California Golf Association

Dr. Tom Lindgren, a retired surgeon and member of The Palms GC and San Diego CC, was elected president of the SCGA at its annual meeting, held Tuesday morning in Universal City. He succeeds Big Canyon CC member Dennis Harwood of Corona Del Mar.

“I’m pleased and honored to represent my two clubs as president of this association,” said Lindgren. “I will do my best to continue to help the organization lead, serve and advance amateur golf throughout the Southland.”

Joining Harwood on the SCGA Executive Committee are Vice President Ken Bien of Rancho Santa Fe GC, Secretary Al Frank of Oakmont CC, Treasurer John Morello of Lake San Marcos GC and Immediate Past President Harwood.

Several SCGA members were honored for their service at the Annual Meeting:

• Marc Myers of Hillcrest CC received the Jim House Award, which recognizes the work of an exceptional SCGA volunteer.

• Don Knabe of Lakewood GC received the Lynn Smith Award, which honors outstanding contributors and service to amateur golf in Southern California.

• Bill Brooks and Jim Holland were given the Don Carlson Award for their accomplishments as the handicap chairs of Woodranch GC.

• Jim Bass was named the winner of the Newell Pinch Delegate of the Year Award for his liaison work between his Bonita Men’s GC and the SCGA.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles