Theegala Wins 120th SCGA Amateur

Sahith Theegala is all the way back after missing a year of competition because of a wrist injury.

Theegala, a senior at Pepperdine from Chino Hills, posted scores of 5-under-par 65 in each of the last two rounds to win the 120th Southern California Golf Association Amateur Championship by a whopping eight strokes over Trip Morris of Valley Village at Lakeside Golf and Country Club in Burbank.

“It feels unbelievable,” said Theegala, who recently finished second to Pepperdine teammate Joe Highsmith in the Sahalee Players Championship. “I’ve played this event for quite a while now, so to have my name etched on that trophy is pretty special. It really hasn’t even set in yet.

“It was unbelievable. I haven’t played many tournaments in a long time, so it was great having such a crowd of family and loved ones. It meant the world that they all came out to watch and support me.”

Theegala, a two-time All-American who has won twice for the Waves and also captured the Pacific Coast Amateur and the Sahalee Players in 2017, posted a score of 68-67-65-65—265, 15-under, while Morris, a member at Lakeside, was second at 66-69-66-72—273.

Sam King of Irvine and USC was third at 71-71-64-68—274, followed by Devon Bling of Ridgecrest and UCLA at 72-69-66-68—275.

Charlie Reiter of Palm Desert and USC shot 69-67-68-73—277 to tie for fifth with Caden Fioroni of San Diego and Pepperdine, who finished at 73-70-69-65—278.

Blake Bourelle of Bakersfield and Sonoma State totaled 69-65-71-73—278 to tie for seventh with Jamie Cheatham of Rancho Santa Fe and Cal, who wound up at 72-72-68-66—278, Mark Warman of San Clemente, who finished at 72-69-67-70—278, and Walker Huddy of Studio City, who came in at 71-69-68-70—278.

The tournament dates to 1900, with Tiger Woods winning in 1994. Other future PGA Tour players to claim the title were Al Geiberger, Barry Jaeckel, John Jacobs, Mark Pfeil, Tony Sills, Jeff Hart, Greg Twiggs, Dave Sheff, David Hobby, Paul Stankowski and Todd Demsey.

Among those who have tried and failed to claim the title were Phil Mickelson, Craig Stadler, Scott Simpson, Corey Pavin and Mark O’Meara.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles