Sutton Earns NCPGA’s Pro of the Year Award

PGA Master Professional Ward Sutton of Reno, Nev., was honored as 2018 Golf Professional of the Year by the Northern California PGA in the presentation of its annual section awards during the NCPGA President’s Dinner at Silver Creek Valley Country Club in San Jose.

Golf Professional of the Year is the highest honor the section can bestow upon a club pro, and is awarded for the dedication, values, and leadership that embody the consummate PGA Professional.

Sutton has authored numerous articles and been featured in publications such as PGA Magazine, the Reno Gazette-Journal, Northern Nevada Business Weekly, BizNevada Magazine and the Sierra Sun, in addition to appearing in multiple segments for KRNV NBC Reno.

Sutton has worked to grow the game at his facility through initiatives aimed at developing young players and veterans, including PGA Jr. League, Drive, Chip and Putt, PGA HOPE, the Fred and Judy Alexander Clinic, The First Tee of Northern Nevada, U.S. Kids, and high school/university golf programs.

Gus Jones of Martis Camp Club in Truckee was selected as winner of the NCPGA Bill Strausbaugh Award for outstanding integrity and commitment to mentoring fellow golf professionals, and Bryan Pate of Martis Campo was named Club Fitter of the Year.

Mitch Jonas of Tahoe City Golf Course was selected Golf Course Superintendent of the Year, while Chris Galvin of Sierra View Country Club in Roseville is the Assistant Associate of the Year, and Will Robins of Will Robins Golf in Citrus Heights was presented with the Youth Player Development Award.

Greg Ciavarelli of Mark McEvoy Legacy Foundation was named Sales Representative of the Year, Honorary NCPGA Member Frank LaRosa was chosen Sports Media Person of the Year, Bob Epperly of Benicia received the NCPGA Patriot Award, and Kevin Hanssen of Pebble Beach Golf Academy earned the Teacher of the Year Award.

Others award-winners include Donn Achen of Del Monte Golf Course in Monterey, the Horton Smith Award; Aaron Hartesveldt of the Northern California Golf Association in Pebble Beach, Player Development Award; Abbas Qabazard of Presidio Golf Course in San Francisco, Public Merchandiser of the Year Award; Will Hutter of the Olympic Club in San Francisco, Private Merchandiser of the Year Award, and Marianne Zabbo of Pebble Beach Company, Resort Merchandiser of the Year.

Players of the Year awards went to Jason Schmuhl of Windsor Golf Club, Player of the Year (Regular Division); David Carr of Teal Bend Golf Club in Sacramento, Senior (50-64) Player of the Year; PGA Life Member Dave Bingham of Elk Grove Super Senior Player (65-plus), and Donnie Baucom of Morgan Creek Golf Club in Roseville, Associate Player of the Year.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles