Stieler Beats Foreman in Playoff to Claim 62nd NCGA Senior Championship

Mike Stieler of Ripon finally won a Northern California Golf Association on his own.

The 56-year-old Stieler, who teamed with Danny Paniccia to win four NCGA Four-Ball events in the last 10 years, made a par on the first playoff hole to defeat Terry Foreman of Brentwood in the 62nd NCGA Senior Championship at Poppy Hills Golf Course in Pebble Beach.

“It’s hard to win,” said Stieler, who credited teaching pro Kevin Wentworth for helping him improve his game recently. “All of the years that I’ve played, all of the attempts that I’ve made. It’s great that it all paid off.

“(Wentworth) has helped me a ton with my irons,” Stieler said. “He’s really tightened up my irons play.”  

Stieler, who teamed with Paniccia to win the 2013 and 2014 NCGA Four-Ball Championships, and the 2017 and 2019 NCGA Mid-Amateur Four-Ball Championships, posted a score of 70-72-72—214, one-over-par, while Foreman finished at 72-71-71—214.  

Foreman held a two-stroke lead before making bogeys on the last two holes in the final round and Stieler caught him with a birdie at No. 18.  

Then on the playoff hole, Foreman hit his second shot fat from the fairway and failed to reach the green, leading to another bogey. When Stieler made a two-putt par, it was over.  

“I just chunked it,” said Foreman, teamed with Casey Boyns to win the 2015 NCGA Senior Four-Ball Championship. “I still had a great event. It’ll sting, but it is what it is. Mike’s a great player.”  

Jeff Wilson of Fairfield was third at 72-69-75—216, followed in fourth by Dennis Martini of Los Angeles, who finished at 70-71-76—217.  

Thomas Ansbro of Morgan Hill carded a score of 73-75-70—218 to tie for fifth with Ron Ewing of Atwater, who totaled 76-69-73—218, Patrick Boyd of Napa, who wound up at 75-70-73—218, and Robert Funk of Canyon Lake, who finished at 72-69-77—218.  

Steve Schroeder of Monterey shot 72-76-71—219 to tie for ninth with Rob Campbell of Camarillo, who came in at 71-76-72—219.   Defending champion Jim Plotkin of Carlsbad tied for 26th at 77-75-78—230.  

Other former winners of the NCGA Senior Championship include Boyns, Gary Vanier, Jim Knoll, Tony Padilla, Jeff Burda, Jim McMurtrey, Jack Bariteau, Ernie Pieper Jr., and Adrian McManus, who won the inaugural event in 1962.

For complete results, visit:

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles