Stanford’s Ray Selected D-1 Coach of Year

Conrad Ray of Stanford, who led the Cardinal to the NCAA Men’s Golf Championship last week, has been named winner of the 2019 Dave Williams Award presented by Golf Pride Grips as the Division I National Coach of the Year, it was announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

In addition, Ray earned the West District Coach of the Year Award.

Ray also earned the national award in 2007 after leading Stanford to its last NCAA Championship, and he and joined Wally Goodwin, who earned the award in 1992 and 1994, as the only Stanford coach to win the award twice.

In his 15th year season at head coach at Stanford, Ray’s team claimed the national championship with a 3-2 victory over Texas in the match-play final of the NCAA Championships at Blessings Golf Club in Fayetteville, Ark.

Stanford finished the season with five consecutive victories in The Goodwin, the Western Intercollegiate Championship, the Pacific 12 Conference Championships, the NCAA Stanford Regional and NCAA Championships.
Ray, the Pac-12 Coach of the Year in 2007 and 2014, has guided the Cardinal into 13 NCAA Championship tournaments and has produced 24 All-Americans, four Pac-12 Players of the Year, three Pac-12 Scholar Athletes of the Year, and three Pac-12 Freshmen of the Year.

A three-year letterman for the Cardinal and a member of the 1994 NCAA championship team, Ray was captain of the 1997 Stanford team, when he recorded six top-10 finishes.

Ray was a member of Stanford’s 1994 NCAA Championship team, when he was a teammate of Tiger Woods, Casey Martin and Notah Begay.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles