Sawaia Captures Coachella Amateur Title by Four Strokes Over Larrabee

Ben Sawaia of Henderson, Nev., led almost from wire-to-wire while winning Coachella Amateur Championship by four strokes over Baylor Larrabee of Ferndale, Wash., on the North Course at Terra Lago Golf Club in Indio.

Sawaia, a senior at Nevada Las Vegas who won the Nevada State Amateur Championship earlier this year, posted a score of 62-70-68—200, 16-under-par, while Larrabee finished at 71-65-68—2014, followed by Francis Bautista of Rancho Cucamonga at 68-68-69—204, and Jaden Huggins of Murrietta at 69-68-69—206.

Cooper Humphreys of Canada shot 70-70-70—210 to tie for fifth with Zach Felts of St. George, Utah, who finished at 72-70-68—210, while Sahir Balyan of Simi Valley totaled 72-69-70—211 to tie for seventh with Damon Vikauskas of Mesa, Ariz., who wound up at 66-73-72—211, and Preston Bebich of Gig Harbor, Wash., who finished at 71-72-68—211.

Teddy Vigna of Santa Barbara carded a score of 68-70-74—212 to tie for 10th with Brandon Robison of Centervillle, Utah, who wound up at 69-71-72—212, Costas Panay of Redmond, Wash., who wound up at 72-70-70—212, and Conor Schubring of Eden Prairie, Minn, who came in at 73-70-69—212.

The Coachella Amateur is part of the Troon Saguaro Amateur Series.

For complete results, visit:

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles