Rodgers makes sweeping statement

Patrick Rodgers of Stanford made it a clean sweep of the three major college golf trophies for 2014 when he was selected to receive the Haskins Award, it was announced by the Fred Haskins Commission.

The 21-year-old Rodgers, who will turn pro after his junior season next week in the Travelers Championship on the PGA Tour, earlier was presented the Ben Hogan and Jack Nicklaus awards.

“Patrick Rodgers is the best amateur golfer in the world and he certainly deserves a place in history,” said J. Madden Hatcher, chairman of the Fred Haskins Commission. “We are proud to honor him, his family and his university with an award that represents the principles, values and traditions of this wonderful game. His resume speaks for itself and it helped him emerge from a very talented cadre of college golfers this year.”

Rodgers, a three-time All-American, claimed six tournament titles this season and 11 in his career to tie the Stanford record set by Tiger Woods. He will be presented with the award on July 1 at the Greenbrier Resort in White Sulphur Springs, W. Va.

In addition, Rodgers received a sponsors exemption to play in the Greenbrier Classic on July 3-6 at Old White TPC at the Greenbrier.

Past winners of the Haskins Award, which was founded in 1971, include Woods, Ben Crenshaw of Texas, Curtis Strange of Wake Forest, Jay Haas of Wake Forest, Scott Simpson of USC, Brad Faxon of Furman, Bob Tway of Oklahoma State, Bobby Clampett of BYU, Phil Mickelson of Arizona State, David Duval of Georgia Tech, Scott Verplank of Oklahoma State, Billy Mayfair of Arizona State, Justin Leonard of Texas, Stewart Cink of Georgia Tech, Luke Donald of Northwestern, Graeme McDowell of Alabama Birmingham, Hunter Mahan of Oklahoma State, Bill Haas of Wake Forest, Charles Howell III of Oklahoma State and Ryan Moore of UNLV..

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles