O’Donnell wins Santa Cruz City title by 1 shot

Mike O’Donnell of Chico sank a 30-foot birdie putt on the 17th hole that lifted him to a one-stroke victory over defending champion Ben Peters of San Mateo in the Santa Cruz City Championship at DeLaveaga Golf Course.

O’Donnell, who also holed a 10-foot birdie putt on No. 15, posted a score of 73-70—143, 3-over-par, while Peters wound up at 74-70—144.

“After the first round I thought I was kind of out it, to be honest,” the 37-year-old O’Donnell, who played at UC Davis, told the Santa Cruz Sentinel. “I thought I’d have to shoot mid-60s today. But the scores were really high yesterday, like over par was the leader.

“The course played tough; pins were tucked, greens were firm. I stayed patient all day. I figured some putts would fall eventually and they did.”

Peters, who won the 53rd Northern California Golf Association Public Links Championship at Poppy Hills Golf Course in Pebble Beach late in April, collected six birdies, but also had six bogeys in the final round, losing the lead and the tournament by stumbling on each of the last two holes.

O’Donnell got a bit of payback after Peters beat him in a playoff to qualify for the 2016 U.S. Mid-Amateur Championship.

“It is what it is,” Peters told the Sentinel. “I worked hard to get back in position today. I just didn’t get it done at the end. It sucks, but it’s also fun to be able to keep yourself in it for the most part. That was one of my main goals today. The most I’m disappointed about is making bogey, bogey.”

Serge Kiriluk of Sonora, who plays at Chico State, was third at 78-67—145, while Cameron Henry of Los Gatos shot 75-71—146 to tie for fourth with Deane Rinaldi of Santa Cruz, who wound up at, 71-75—146.

Evan Peterson of Fresno posted a score of 72-75—147 to tie for sixth with Brant Schenk of Santa Cruz, who totaled 76-71—147, Evan Peterson of Fresno, who finished at 72-75—147, Ned Jensen of San Francisco, who wound up at 71-76—147, and Theo Andre-Fouet of Santa Barbara, who also came in at 71-76—147.

Paul Rathbun of San Diego was 10th at 71-77—148.

Mike Loustalot of Phoenix claimed the Santa Cruz City Senior Championship with a score of 74-78—152, followed by Scott Bedell of Santa Cruz at 74-80—154, while Ray Kong of San Jose totaled 78-79—177 to tie for third with Sean Powers of Santa Cruz, who finished at 83-74—177.

Vanessa Watkins of Bakersfield won the Ladies Championship in a playoff after shooting 77-75—152 to tie for first with Sarah Garcia of Turlock, who finished at 76-76—152, and Bergen Benedict, also of Turlock, was third at 75-78—153.

Rich Glegorn took the Super Senior title at 76-71—147, followed by Frank Pieper of Aptos at 72-76—148, and Jim Welsh of San Jose at 73-79—152.

For complete results, visit http://www.delaveagagolf.com/news-events-posts/2018-santa-cruz-city-am-final-results.html

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles