Fioroni Wins 123rd SCGA Am by 8 Shots

Caden Fioroni of San Diego captured the 123rd Southern California Golf Association Amateur Championship by a whopping eight strokes over three other players at San Diego Country Club in Chula Vista.

Fioroni, junior at UNLV who captured the CIF State Championship as a senior at Torrey Pines High School, tied for second in the 2022 ASU Thunderbird Invitational and was solo second in the 2020 SoCal Amateur, carded a score of 69-67-68-66—270, 14-under-par. He was the only player in the field to post four scores under par.

The 21-year-old Fioroni took a two-stroke lead into the final round, but it was down to one after he three-putted for a par from 15 feet on the second hole. However, he regained control with birdies on the fifth and eighth holes before making a miracle par on No. 15 with a 12-foot putt from off the green and applying the finishing touch with an eagle on the next hole in his bogey-free final round.

Michael Slesinski of San Diego, who wound up at 68-69-72-69—278 to tie for second with Kento Yamawaki of Encinitas, who shot 75-69-66-68—278, and Tyler Kowack of San Diego, who finished at 68-70-68-72—278.

Ian Maspat of San Diego was fifth at 70-68-69-73—280, while Tim Hogarth of North Hills totaled 69-71-70-71—281 to tie for sixth with Daniel Heo of Cypress, who finished at 71-74-69-67—281.

Michael Fedorka of Upland carded a score of 68-76-72-67—283 to tie for eighth with Shea Lague of Jamul, who wound up at 72-72-70-69—283, while Benjamin Hong of Brea shot 71-70-71-72—284 to tie for 10th with Chanachon Chokprajakchat of Anaheim, who came in at 71-72-69-72—284.

Former champions of the Southern California Amateur include Hogarth, Tiger Woods, Al Geiberger, Paul Hunter, George Von Elm, Charles Seaver, Johnny Dawson, John Jacobs, E.H. Seaver, Barry Jaeckel, Craig Steinberg, Paul Stankowski, Verne Callison, Todd Demsey, John Pate, Roy Moon, Nico Bollini, Scott McGihon, John Merrick, Charlie Wi, Kevin Marsh, Rico Hoey, Patrick Cantlay, Beau Hossler, Bhavik Patel, Greg  Twiggs, Jeff Hart, Mark Pfeil, Bruce McCormick and Sahith Theegala.

The Southern California Amateur was first played in 1900, when Charles E. Orr claimed the title.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles