De Los Reyes Wins 94th NorCal Open

Jonathan De Los Reyes of Sacramento captured the 94th Northern California Open by two strokes over Connor Blick of Alamo on the Tournament Course at Coyote Creek Golf Club in Morgan Hill.

De Los Reyes, who played at St. Mary’s College and whose career includes victories in the West Coast Conference Championship, the Fairfield City Amateur, the Alameda Commuters and the Antioch City Championship, posted a score of 65-67-75—207, 9-under-par.

Seemingly coasting to victory without a bogey on his card in the final round, De Los Reyes suddenly began to struggle with bogeys on the 12th and 16th holes, plus a double-bogey 6 at No. 17, before finishing things off with a par.

Blick, the defending champion, finished at 66-71-72—209, while Brad Marek of Berkeley totaled 72-75-68—215 to tie for third with low amateur Garrett Boe of Clovis, who wound up at 73-69-73—215.

Derek Ackerman of Half Moon Bay carded a score of 72-74-70—216 to tie for fifth with Richard Yai of Fremont, who had an identical score of 72-74-70—216, and Dylan VanderVeer of Corona Del Mar, who finished at 71-73-72—216.

Matt Wilson of Cypress was eighth at 68-76-74—218, while Kaz Hoffman of Tiburon shot 76-71-72—219 to tie for ninth with Kevin Huff of El Dorado Hills, who came in at 74-72-73—219.

Former NorCal Open champions include Tony Lema, George Archer, Lawson Little Jr., Macdonald Smith, Peter Jacobsen, Xander Schauffle, Roger Maltbie, Bill Glasson, Bob Boldt, Bruce Summerhays, Dutch Harrison, Matt Bettencourt, Jim Ferrier, Tal Smith, Charles Seaver, Bud Ward, Dick Lotz, Jock Hutchinson, Smiley Quick, Jerry Heard, Vic Loustalot, Sandy Galbraith, Casey Boyns, Todd Fisher and Gregor Main.

When it was first played in 1920 and for several years thereafter, the Northern California Open was a PGA Tour event.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles