Davis Beats Smith in Playoff to Capture 32nd California Senior Amateur Title

Craig Davis of Chula Vista is a winner again.

The 61-year-old Davis, who has won numerous Southern California Golf Association events and a few others, came from four strokes behind in the final round to win the 32nd California Senior Amateur Championship with a birdie on the third playoff hole to beat Paul Smith of Oxnard at Red Hill Country Club in Rancho Cucamonga.

Davis, who captured the 2019 British Senior Amateur, the 2022 Morrison Cup and won the SCGA Senior Amateur Championship four times, made three straight birdies on the back nine in a bogey-free final round and posted a score of 70-74-68—212, four-under-par, while Smith wound up at 71-71-70—212.

Tim Hogarth of Simi Valley was third at 69-74-70—213, while two-time defending champion Randy Haag of Orinda finished at 73-70-72—to tie for fourth with Ron Ewing of Atwater, who wound up at 70-72-73—215, and Bill Bunce of El Dorado Hills was sixth at 70-76-72—218.

Dan Sullivan of Pasadena shot 72-74-74—220 to tie for seventh with Mark Sanchez of Kentfield, who finished at 72-72-76—220, while 2020 Cal Senior Amateur champion Robert Funk of Canyon Lake totaled 73-27-72—221 to tie for ninth with Tom Kroll of Encinitas, who came in at 70-72-79—221.

Mark Morgan of Shingle Springs, the 2017 Cal Senior Amateur champion, tied for 19th at 76-73-77—226, while John Pate of Santa Barbara, who won this tile in 2014 and 2016, tied for 21st at 73-76-78—227, and Casey Boyns of Monterey, who won it in 2012, tied for 29th at 74-77-80—231.

Other former winners of the California Senior Amateur Championship include Jeff Wilson, Jim Knoll, Jeff Burda, Gary Vanier, Bob Olds, Rob Thompson, Ted Lyford, Jim McMurtrey, Paul Spengler, Mike Riley, Cliff Davis and Chuck Weil, who captured the inaugural event in 1992.

For complete results, visit: https://calam-2023californiasenioramateurchampio.golfgenius.com/pages/9172526058501591975

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles