CS East Bay Wins Northwest Nazarene

Cal State Eastbay of Hayward captured the Northwest Nazarene Nighthawk Invitational by four strokes over Cal State San Bernardino, and Keita Okada of Hawaii Pacific claimed the individual title by three shots over Fraser Owenson of Cal State East Bay at Poppy Ridge Golf Course in Livermore. 

The Pioneers finished in the top 10 for the third time in five events this season, finishing with a score of 297-286—583, 7-over-par, while Cal State San Bernardino was second at 302-285—587, followed by Montana State-Billings at 296-292—588, Simon Fraser at 302-292—594 and Stanislaus State at 307-292—599. 

Sonoma State was sixth at 299-301—600, followed by Cal State Monterey Bay at 308-297—605, while Hawaii Pacific totaled 302-305—607 to tie for eighth with Northwest Nazarene, which finished at 315-292—607, and St. Martin’s was 10th at 310-299—609. 

Cal State San Marcos was 11th at 309-307—616, while Holy Names of Oakland wound up at 308-311—617 to tie for 12th with Academy of Art in San Francisco, which finished at 311-308—617, and Dominican of San Rafael was 15th at 321-305—626. 

Okada, a Hawaii Pacific sophomore from Japan who played at IMG Academy in Bradenton Fla., and captured the PacWest Conference Championship last season, claimed his fifth college title with a score of 69-69—138, 6-under-par, while Owenson of Cal State East Bay was second at 72-69—141. 

Tommy Jernigan of Cal State East Bay shot 73-71—144 to tie for third with Brian Nielson of Cal State San Bernardino, who finished at 75-69—144, Kelly Dodoit of Hawaii Pacific, who wound up at 72-72—144, and Riley Kaercher of Montana State-Billings, who came in at 71-73—144. 

Brad Sparrer of Stanislaus State totaled 72-73—145 to tie for seventh with Ryan Hodgins of Simon Fraser of Simon Fraser, who finished at 71-74—145, while Chris Ebster to Stanislaus State totaled 75-71—146 to tie for ninth with David Marris of Cal State San Bernardino, who shot 74-72—146, and Hayata Utsunomiya of Cal State Monterey Bay, who wound up at 75-71—146. 

Rounding out the scoring for team champion Cal State Eastbay were Xavier Coreno at 76-71—147 in a tie for 12th that included teammate Quentyn Kowata, who finished at 73-74—147, Won Jun Lee in a tie for 19th at 76-72—148, Ananjan Kaushik in a tie for 76-76—152, Ryan Hong in a tie for 66th at 79-80—159 and Mike Sevin in 78th at 89-77—166. 

For complete results, visit https://results.golfstat.com/public/leaderboards/gsnav.cfm?pg=player&tid=24384  

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles