Coody Wins TaylorMade Pebble Beach Invite by 3 Shots Over Stephenson

Rookie Parker Coody captured the Professional Division of the 51st TaylorMade Pebble Beach Invitational by three strokes over Lauren Stephenson, who plays on the LPGA Tour, at Pebble Beach Golf Links.

The tournament was played over four days at Pebble Beach, The Links Spanish Bay and Spyglass Hills Golf Course.

“This was by far the best course conditions I’ve ever played on the most amazing time I’ve had playing in an event,” said Coody, who claimed his first professional victory in his sixth pro start start by eighth strokes in August at the CentrePort Canada Rail Park Manitoba Open in the PGA Tour Canada.

The 22-year-old Coody, who helped Texas win the NCAA Championship earlier this year while finishing second in the individual standings, posted a score of 69-68-64-69—270, 18-under par and was the only player to break 70 in each round.

Stephenson, who tied for ninth in the 2020 Women’s PGA Championship, was second at 74-66-64-69—273, followed by Mac Meisner at 70-68-68-69—275, and Isaiah Salinda of South San Francisco and Stanford at 68-73-69-66—276.

The finish by Stephenson equaled the best by a woman in the tournament in recent years, as Mina Harigae of Monterey also was runner-up in 2018, but the last time before that when a woman finished second was Annika Sorenstam of Sweden in 1999.

Not only that, Stephenson’s 64 broke the women’s course record at Spyglass Hill.

Scott McCarron of Sacramento and UCLA shot 71-66-67-73—277 to tie for fifth with Alex Cejka of Germany, who finished at 72-71-66-68—277, while Kevin Velo of Danville and San Jose State totaled 68-68-72-70-278 to tie for seventh with William McGirt, who wound up at 67-71-69-71—278.

Jeff Gove of San Marcos and Pepperdine, the 2015 champion, carded a score of 70-71-70-68—279 t tie for ninth with Maria Fassi of Mexico, who finished at 66-74-69-70—279, and Patrick Fishburn, who came in at 72-71-64-72—279.

Previous winners of the Taylor Made Pebble Beach Invitational include Johnny Miller, John Daly, Juli Inkster, Mark Brooks, Nick Watney, Kirk Triplett, Al Geiberger, Tom Lehman, Jay Haas, Kevin Sutherland, Tom Pernice Jr., Peter Oosterhuis of England, Duffy Waldorf, Loren Roberts, Mark Calcavecchia, Kevin Kisner, Tommy Armour III, Olin Browne, Rocco Mediate, John Mahaffey Forrest Fezler and Bobby Clampett.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles