Block Is SCPGA Player of Year for 7th Time

Michael Block of Trabuco Hills Golf Club in Mission Viejo claimed the Southern California PGA Player of the Year Award for the third straight time and seventh in eight years by winning three tournaments during the 2020 season.

Block, who also took the award in 2013-14-15-16-18-19, teamed with Steve Saunders of Temecula Creek Inn at Dove Canyon Golf Club earlier this month in the final event of the year to win the SCPGA E-Z-Go Pinehurst Championship for the second straight year.

In addition, Block won the SCPGA Cart Star Senior-Junior Championship with Scott Mallory of the Journey at Pechanga in Temecula, and on his own tied for the title in the Southern California Open, while finishing second in the SCPGA PGA Professional Championship, the SCPGA Stroke Play Championship and the SCPGA Match Play Championship among eight top-10 results.

Block finished with 640.9 points in the SCPGA Player of the Year standings, while Kyle Mendoza of the Farms Golf Club in Rancho Santa Fe was second with 502.28, followed by Vinnie Poncino of San Clemente Golf Course with 399.91.

Dr. Alison Curdt of Wood Ranch Golf Club in Simi Valley earned the SCPGA Women’s Player of the Year Award for the fifth straight time after winning the SCPGA Women’s Stroke Play Series, the SCPGA Women’s Match Play Championship, the SCPGA Section Championship and playing on the winning squad in the SCPGA Women’s Team Championship.

Curdt finished with 273.75 points, while Lehua Wise of Hideaway Golf Club in La Quinta was second at 218.75, with Erika Ilagan of SeaCliff Country Club in Huntington Beach was third at 180.00.

Alan Sorenson of Buena Vista Golf Course in Taft took the Senior Player of the Year Award thanks to victories in the SCPGA Section Senior Championship, the SCPGA Senior High Desert Two-Day, the SCPGA Senior Players Division Championship and the SCPGA Senior Joe Robinson Memorial.

Sorenson finished with 707.75 points, with Mike Fergin of Mesa Verde Country Club in Costa Mesa second at 677.75, followed by Jeff Hart of Del Mar Golf Center at 649.50.

Jon Fiedler of Las Posas Country Club in Camarillo won the Super Senior Player of the Year Award for the second straight year after claiming titles in the SCPGA Senior Division Kickoff Classic, the SCPGA Senior Division Inland Empire Championship, the SCPGA Senior Division Metro Pro Two-Day, and the SCPGA Senior High Desert Two-day, plus four runner-up finishes.

Fiedler amassed 473.50 points, followed by two-time past winner Paul Wise of Hillcrest Country Club in Los Angeles with 409.00 points and Fred Wood of Oceanside Golf Course at 237.75.

Mardell Wilkins of Tijeras Creek Golf Club in Rancho Santa Margarita captured the SCPGA Women’s Super Senior of the Year Award after winning the SCPGA Women’s Senior Match Play Championship, playing on the winning squad in the SCPGA Women’s Team Championship, finishing second in two SCPGA Women Stroke Play Series events and third in the SCPGA Women’s Stroke Play Championship.

Wilkins finished with 265 points, followed by Lynda Jensen of Toscana Country Club in Indian Wells with 237.50, and Bari Brandwynne of Los Angeles Country Club at 210.00.

For complete 2020 standings, visit

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles