Lexi Thompson 4 stroke Penalty

Lexi Thompson was penalized four strokes at the ANA Inspiration after a viewer reported a violation she had committed.

Thompson did not properly place her ball down where she had marked her spot before putting out on 17 during the third round of the event on Saturday. You can see a video below of what happened:

The LPGA issued a statement explaining what happened. They received an email from a viewer on Sunday about the violation and investigated. They determined the viewer was correct. Not only was Thompson penalized two strokes for misplacing her ball, but she also was penalized another two strokes for signing an incorrect scorecard.

 

View image on Twitter

Thompson was notified of the issues between holes during her final round on Sunday. She was still able to finish 14 under for the tournament, forcing a playoff with So Yeon Ryu.

12 thoughts on “Lexi Thompson 4 stroke Penalty

  • April 4, 2017 at 10:52 am
    Permalink

    This entire situation is wrong. Using TV replay is unfair since not all actions by players on course are televised. TV viewers should not be self-appointed officials. All potential penalties should be addressed and assessed before the scorecard is signed and submitted, and certainly before the start of the next round. Players should not be told of penalties while they are playing. And finally, assessing an additional penalty for the wrong scorecard is absurdly unfair after the fact.

  • April 4, 2017 at 11:02 am
    Permalink

    The PGA and LPGA need to make better decisions. Yes Lexie deserved the 2 stroke penalty but when she signed and turned in her scorecard, she did not know about a penalty that was assigned the NEXT day. What a joke from the LPGA and congrats to Lexie on how she handled the obvious blunder by the LPGA

  • April 4, 2017 at 11:49 am
    Permalink

    Viewers should not be able to email or contact tournament officials regarding a penalty. Sure it will make her stronger but also the emotional turmoil she had to endure on the last 4 holes was completely unnecessary.

    what would baseball or football or any other sport do if a viewer would call in and stated you made an error in judgement. Let the players officiate themselves as golf has always been a sport about integrity. People that do not have anything better to do than sit at home or wherever and call in should get a life.

  • April 4, 2017 at 1:09 pm
    Permalink

    She was not the first to do this nor would she be the last in placing the ball on the exact spot. Lexi’s got the bum deal, she’s the real champion, there’s got to be a timeline to report and penalize the wrongdoings, if they would allow viewers to chime in. There’s one in football, basketball, and i’m sure other sports too, in reviewing in a timely manner. To penalize because the finding was one day late, and it’s for two more strokes on top of two that she was already assessed? That is so wrong in so many levels. Change the stupid rule or come up w/a replay infraction team that would deliver in a timely manner, not one day late. Should the committee go back to other major tournaments and nitpick? I’m sure there’s something out there, heck go back to Tiger days. Dumb Rules Committee.

  • April 4, 2017 at 2:19 pm
    Permalink

    Tell the rules officials to go drown themselves!!!!!!!!!!!
    This the worst breach of common sense anyone has ever heard of!!!
    I have been playing the game for over 55 years and I am a scratch player. I can tell you I have played in many tournaments and NO doubt this happens every day of the week by amateurs and amateurs playing tournaments. It makes US who support the game feel stupid and those “high and mighty” who consider themselves as the guardians of the rules MUST be MORONS!!!!!!!!
    The game is what it is because of us viewing golf on TV and not because of the MORONS who apply the rules.
    So, they better reconsider and begin to apply some common sense when it comes to administering the rules!!
    What in God all mighty is this crap about someone watching on TV and sending an e-mail. My goodness, what is this game coming to!!!!!!!

  • April 4, 2017 at 2:23 pm
    Permalink

    Tell the rules officials to go drown themselves!!!!!!!!!!!
    This the worst breach of common sense anyone has ever heard of!!!
    I have been playing the game for over 55 years and I am a scratch player. I can tell you I have played in many tournaments and NO doubt this happens every day of the week by amateurs and amateurs playing tournaments. It makes US who support the game feel stupid and those “high and mighty” who consider themselves as the guardians of the rules MUST be MORONS!!!!!!!!
    The game is what it is because of us viewing golf on TV and not because of the MORONS who apply the rules.
    So, they better reconsider and begin to apply some common sense when it comes to administering the rules!!
    What in God all mighty is this crap about someone watching on TV and sending an e-mail. My goodness, what is this game coming to!!!!!!!

  • April 4, 2017 at 2:38 pm
    Permalink

    That vewer who e mailed that violation on Lexi Thompson shoud have not been able to express an oppion because of the fact that the round was over by at least 12 hrs.Also having to receive an additional 2 strokes for not turning a correct score is ludicrous bacaese she had no idea she had committed a violation in the first place.Inteerfearing fans are ruining the game.

  • April 4, 2017 at 2:55 pm
    Permalink

    The obvious problem with this rule is that rules need to apply to all participants of an event and public video is not made of all participants. Any rule that allows video to be the determining factor is by definition unevenly applied.

  • April 4, 2017 at 3:30 pm
    Permalink

    Did the camera move? Stationary cameras would not change the angle, but if the cameraman was shoulder-holding his camera, a subtle shift would not be noticed.
    Also, the caller should have called during the round, not a day after! Once a round is over, it should be OVER! Penalty would be 2 and not 4 strokes.

  • April 4, 2017 at 4:09 pm
    Permalink

    It’s amazing to me that with all of the organizations and money being spent to encourage not only the young, but all people in general to become a part of the wonderful sport of golf. While it is a fantastic sport for all ages and genders, we now seem to have a major conflict with this encouragement with officials changing history from one day to the next. I have yet to read a rule in any sport that allows an official to change the books on a game that completed the day before. I have requested the rule which allows this after-the-fact rule the officials used to carry an infraction over from one day to the next. It seems that this type of ‘logic’ is opposite to the encouragement being generated to play the sport of golf. These officials appear to be dragging the golf world down not building it up.
    Without question this interpretation of the rules denied this tournaments lowest scoring player to not win what was rightfully hers. If this carryover rule is in the books, it must be deleted.

  • April 5, 2017 at 7:46 am
    Permalink

    I sure hope the usga is reviewing this,rule. After the fact rulings should not be accepted.

  • April 5, 2017 at 8:31 am
    Permalink

    If she had walked away then came back to place her ball there would never had been a question. In addition, when did the judges and rules staff become tv viewers? Finally, the coin for the ball Mark is an imperfect guide and there should be no penalty for such a small move as this was unless it would effect her play (and that was impossible on such a short put)!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *