VIDEO: BYRON NELSON AND THE “STYMIE RULE” AT THE 1940 PGA CHAMPIONSHIP

Approaching the 2022 PGA Championship, nostalgia of Byron Nelson’s performance in his win over Sam Snead in 1940 is looked back upon with the utmost respect even 82 years later.

The younger generation of golfers may have never heard of the “Stymie Rule” despite its origin reaching all the way back to 1744. The rule was lifted in 1952, but made it so that the opponent’s ball would not be lifted if it acted as an obstacle to the player when holing out. The player had to either putt around, or chip over their opponents ball. This short video displays the dexterity of Byron Nelson navigating a “Stymie” at the 1940 PGA Championship.

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

2,267FansLike
354FollowersFollow

Latest Articles