USC’s Nam, Chang Make Palmer Cup

Second-ranked USC landed two players on the women’s squad of the United States team for the Palmer Cup matches, which will be played on June 7-9 at the Alotian Club in Roland, Ark., where the men’s and women’s NCAA Championships also will be played in May.

Ninth-ranked Malia Nam (pictured) and 23rd-ranked Jennifer Chang were the USC players to earn spots, while fifth-ranked Mariel Galdiano of seventh-ranked UCLA also made the U.S. team.

Others selected to the U.S. women’s team were sixth-ranked Dylan Kim of Arkansas, 15th-ranked Haylee Harford for Furman, 16th-ranked Kaitlyn Papp of Texas, eighth-ranked Abbey Carlson of Vanderbilt, 11th-ranked Hailee Cooper of Texas, 31st-ranked Stephanie Lau of Northwestern, 10th-ranked Emilia Migliacco of Wake Forest and Ann Parmeter of Dallas Baptist.

The only men’s player selected from a California school was 15th-ranked Brandon Wu of No. 33 Stanford.

Also named to the U.S. men’s team were Peter Kuest of BYU, fifth-ranked Alex Smalley of Duke, sixth-ranked Will Gordon of Vanderbilt, 13th-ranked Will Grimmer of Ohio State, 10th-ranked Cole Hammer of Texas, 53rd-ranked John Augenstein of Vanderbilt, 42nd ranked Quade Cummins of Oklahoma, 12th-ranked Austin Eckroat of Oklahoma State, 24th-ranked-Chandler Phillips of Texas A&M and Alex Scott of Grand Valley State.

Third-ranked Patty Tavatanakit of UCLA and Thailand, fourth-ranked Albane Valenzuela of fourth-ranked Stanford and Switzerland, and No. 17 Hira Naveed of 34th-ranked Pepperdine and Australia were selected to the women’s International team.

Also making the International women’s team were second-ranked Frida Kinhult of Florida State and Sweden, 25th-ranked Julie McCarthy of Auburn, seventh-ranked Jiwon Jeon of Alabama and Taiwan, 21st-ranked Ana Belac of Duke and Slovakia, 19th-ranked Lois Kay Go of South Carolina and the Philippines, 30th-ranked Leonie Harm of Houston and Germany, and 28th-ranked Agathe Laisne of Texas and France.

Selected to the men’s International team were seventh-ranked Chun An Yu of Arizona State and Taiwan, 26th-ranked Mattias Schmid of Louisville and Germany, 27th-ranked Peng Pichaikool of Mississippi State and Thailand, 19th-ranked Sandy Scott of Texas Tech and Scotland, 63rd-ranked Kengo Aoshima of Wake Forest and Japan, and 57th-ranked Ivan Ramirez of Texas Tech and Colombia.

The United States team will be coached by Scott Limbaugh of Vanderbilt and Mic Potter of Alabama, while the Internationals will be led by Jan Dowling of Michigan and Canada and Mark Immelman of Columbus State and South Africa.

Two Captain’s Picks will be named on May 3 and two other spots will go to the men’s and women’s winners of the R&A Foundation Scholars Tournament on April 1-2.

The United States leads the series, 12-9-1, winning the last two and three of the last four matches.

The 24th Palmer Cup matches will be played on July 3-5 at Lahinch Golf Club in Lahinch, Ireland.

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles