Pace Is NCGA Am Medalist at Spyglass Hill

Griffin Pace of Irvine and Sonoma State claimed medalist honors in the 117th Northern California Golf Association Amateur Championship by one stroke over Garrett Boe of Clovis and Cal State Fullerton at Spyglass Hill Golf Course in Pebble Beach.

Pace, who captured the 2018 Toyota Tour Cup at Santa Ana Country Club, posted a score of 69-70—141, 4-under-par, while Boe finished at 73-68—141, including a hole in one on the 130-yard 15th hole.

Domingo Jojola of Carmichael shot 74-70—144 to tie for third with Adam Canepa of Pacific Grove, who finished at 72-72—144, and Brad Reeves of Woodbridge, who wound up at 73-71—144.

Jack Avritt of Arroyo Grande carded a score of 70-75—145 to tie for sixth with Elliott Bunyaviroch of San Francisco, who totaled 74-71—145, and Alex Chin of Pleasanton, who finished at 69-76—145.

Weston Payne of San Francisco shot 74-72—146 to tie for ninth with Evan Peterson of Madera, who wound up at 70-76—146, Brian Ma of Milpitas, who totaled 75-71—146, and Nick Moore of Seaside, who came in at 76-70—146.

The top 32 players advanced to the match play portion of the tournament that will determine the champion.

Former NCGA Amateur winners include Lawson Little Jr., George Von Elm, Charlie Seaver, Bob Silvestri, Tal Smith, Bob Rosburg, John Brodie, Vern Callison, John Lotz, Ron Cerrudo, Vic Loustalot, Roger Maltbie, Kevin Sutherland, Casey Boyns, Randy Haag, Gary Vanier, Spencer Levin, Maverick McNealy, Shintaro Ban, Isaiah Salinda and Joshua McCarthy.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles