NCGA Wins 52nd Hanna-Wehrman Cup

The Northern California Golf Association captured the 52nd Hanna-Wehrman Cup with a 10½-9½ victory over the Northern California PGA at Poppy Hills Golf Course in Pebble Beach.

The NCGA leads the all-time series, 24-18-10 and has won 11 of the last 12, losing only last year during that stretch.

“It was a hard-fought win,” said NCGA Captain Gail Rogers of Santa Cruz, the first female captain the NCGA has ever had. “It was exciting, coming down to the final match.”

Ben Peters of Redwood City, the 2018 NCGA Public Links champion, provided the margin of victory when he halved his match with Brian Glosser of Fairfield.

The NCGA entered singles play with a 6-4 lead and got victories from 2017 NCGA Player of the Year Jason Anthony of Napa, 2 and 1 over Kevin Roman of Pebble Beach; 2018 California Amateur champion Bobby Bucey of Concord, also by 2 and 1 over Dana Banke of Danville; Nick Moore of Seaside, again by 2 and 1 over Tim Sands of Modesto, and NCGA Amateur Stroke Play champion Matt Cohn of San Francisco, by 4 and 2 over Dave Carr of Marysville.

For the NCPGA, Jason Owens of Marina defeated Rick Reinsberg of Moraga, 5 and 4; Rick Leibovich of Salinas downed Garrett Wagner of Brentwood, 1 up; Steve Pellegrine of Fresno beat Mike Stieler of Coarsegold, 5 and 3; Stuart Smith of Reno got past Domingo Jojola of Burlingame, 2 and 1, and Zach Makilan of Santa Rosa topped Ned Jensen of San Francisco, 3 and 2.

For complete results, visit

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles