NCGA Beats SCGA by 49.50-40.50 in the 12th California Amateur Cup

The Northern California Golf Association rallied in  the singles competition on the second and final day of the 2023 California Amateur Cup to claim a 49.50-40.50 victory over the Southern California Golf Association at La Quinta Country Club.

In doing so, the NCGA took a 6-5-1 lead in the all-time series after the SGCA won the biennial event the last two times it was played.

The SCGA held a 32-28 lead after the four-ball competition on the first day, but the SCGA captured 11 of the 20 singles matches and halved two, with two points awarded to a team for each victory.

Representing Team NCGA were Tina Barker, Holly Bare, Lynne Cowan, Pat Cornett, Karen Garcia, Lauren Gebauer, Catherine Kim, Jan Serbin, Randy Haag, Mike Stieler, Jerry Ledzinski, Marc Engellenner, Mike Perchack, Jack Barber, Mark Morgan, Steve Schroeder, Matt Cohn, Nick Randazzo, Garett Wagner and Jeremy Gearhart.

Playing for the SCGA were Melanie Furuta, Kelly Ly, Satchel Hermann, Mark Strickland, Mary Budke, Kathy Kurata, Mitchell Fedorka, Tongun LoSarah, Scott Almquist, Dan Sullivan, Shelly Haywood, Diane Irvin, Nick Geyer, Joe Neuheisel, Eunice Cho, Jennifer Peng, Damon Krause and Alex Resurrection.

The event, which as first played in 1998, originally was named the Seaver Cup in honor of former NCGA President Charles H. Seaver, who is one of two amateurs (along with George Von Elm) to hold the NCGA, SCGA and California State Amateur titles at the same time.

For complete results, visit:

Related Articles

Stay Connected


Latest Articles