Kuang wins 57th California State Boys title

Edwin Kuang of Murrieta captured the 57th California State Boys Junior Amateur Championship by four strokes over Raymond Navis of Nipomo at Bear Creek Golf Club in Murrieta.

Kuang (pictured, center) joined Rickie Fowler (2005), Bryson DeChambeau (2010), Spencer Levine (2000), Pat Perez (1993), Rico Hoey (2012), Ben Fox (2003), Patrick Nagle (2002), Jay Choe (2001), Joe Acosta Jr. (1990-91) and Jason Semelsberger (1994-95) among the winners of the tournament in recent years.

Kuang posted a score of 67-70—137, 7-under-par, while Navis (pictured, right) finished at 73-68—141 and Dylan Menante of Carlsbad (pictured, left) was third at 72-70—142.

Kento Yamawaki of Encinitas shot 74-72—146 to tie for fourth with Caleb Shetler of Saratoga, who totaled 73-73—146 and Parker Sisk of El Cajon, who also finished at 73-73—146.

Michael Shaw of Pleasanton carded a score of 75-72—147 to tie for seventh with Alex Hom of Belmont, who wound up at 74-73—147, Tyler Schafer of Long Beach, who also was at 74-73—147, Devon Ramachandran, who posted a score of 70-77—147, and Connor O’Brien of Irvine, who came in at 71-76—147.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles