Furyk will receive Payne Stewart Award

It’s been a good few days for Jim Furyk.

Fewer than 48 hours after becoming the first player in PGA history to shoot 58, Furyk was named as 2016 recipient of the Payne Stewart Award.

Furyk will receive the award on Sept. 20 at the Payne Stewart Award Ceremony in conjunction with the Tour Championship at East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta.

“I am incredibly honored to receive the Payne Stewart Award,” said Furyk, who has won 17 times in his PGA Tour career. “I was fortunate enough to know Payne as a colleague and friend, and I always admired the character and spirit he brought to the game of golf.

“The Payne Stewart Award is an important part of the Tour’s efforts to honor Payne’s legacy.  Knowing my name will be forever linked to him through this honor is extremely humbling, and I am very grateful.”

The 46-year-old Furyk was the PGA Tour’s 2010 Player of the Year, when he captured the Tour Championship at East Lake to wrap up the FedEx Cup, and his only major title came in the 2003 U.S. Open at Olympia Fields outside Chicago.

Previous winners of the Payne Stewart Award were Byron Nelson, Jack Nicklaus and Arnold Palmer (2000); Ben Crenshaw (2001); Nick Price (2002); Tom Watson (2003); Jay Haas (2004); Brad Faxon (2005); Gary Player (2006); Hal Sutton (2007); Davis Love III (2008); Kenny Perry (2009); Tom Lehman (2010); David Toms (2011); Steve Stricker (2012); Peter Jacobsen (2013); Sir Nick Faldo (2014) and Ernie Els (2015).

The Payne Stewart Award, named for the 11-time PGA Tour winner who died in plane crash in 1999, is presented annually to a professional golfer who best exemplifies Stewart’s steadfast values of character, charity and sportsmanship.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles